The transition to pre-school

I have been counting down the days until my little boy hops on a bus and is whisked away to school. I have to say, I am more than ready for him to go. First, I think he needs to be out and with other children to learn and expand his play skills. Second, it will be a much-needed break in the day from the little man’s wild and unpredictable behaviors. Third, we need down time to spend on our marriage.

I have had people tell me he’s too little to go to school.

This is far from the truth with children with autism. The Birth to Three services have stopped and services need to be continued. Pre-school was the best thing that ever happened to our oldest son, Hunter. He grew and developed into a child with age appropriate speech and fine motor skills.

I can only hope that Tristan grows and thrives as much as his brother. If not for Hunter’s diagnosis, Tristan would never have received the early intervention services. He has come so far in how he learns, how much he has learned. I can see great things for his future in pre-school. We did a trial run for an hour at the school and he did wonderfully. I was happy and relieved. It took a great weight off my chest, knowing that he would enjoy it when he transitioned.

The routine and schedule of pre-school will help ease his fears of new and changing things throughout the day. Hopefully, with time he will be doing so much better on social outings in public. I long for the day that he can eat in public without being overwhelmed and melting down. It will be wonderful to take him to visit more than one relative without resulting in injury or a tearful breakdown.

We know that early is best when it comes with children on the spectrum. Hunter received no early intervention or services until he was over 4 years of age. He has blossomed into a happy, intelligent, social young man. I am so proud of how far he’s come without the services. He gives me hope for all those children who are diagnosed late.

Tristan has come so far in his journey. Going from 5 words to hundreds of words in just over a year. He no longer cries when he’s put in his car seat. He happily grabs his shoes when you say go bye-bye. He enjoys visiting with people when they come to our house. However, he still struggles when we go to visit new places. His anxiety in new settings is palpable. I look forward to having play dates and parties with him some day.

The transition to school went well today. It is a happy time but also a little scary. I put Hunter on that bus just 3 years ago and saw a new child emerge. I know that it will be hard on Tristan, but I will get them both ready and pack him a little lunch and hurry them out the door. I will celebrate the free time while he is gone but probably worry about his feelings and anxiety. I know it’s for the best and great things are to come for him with his journey to school.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. SLP12
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 17:08:14

    As an SLP working at a preschool in California I sometimes think “they’re so little!” when our just turned 3 year olds walk in the door but you are right – they make amazing progress with early intervention!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

