Book Review: The Mind Tree

The Mind Tree: A Miraculous Child Breaks the Silence of Autism by Tito Rajarshi Mukhopadhyay

It isn’t often that I am truly blown away by a book anymore, but this one, it broke my heart, made me laugh, and opened my eyes all in the same breath. Tito has autism, yes, and he has a beautiful gift with words. The first section of The Mind Tree was written when he was 8-years-old. It shows in the undoctored grammar, the sentence structure. Usually, that would take away from the book for me, but not in this case. In this case, it served to better reveal the truth of it all.

Tito’s mother was a driven woman, a warrior in her own right, and the story Tito has to tell is as much about her as it is himself. Soma Mukhopadhyay is my new hero, the kind of mother I hope to be for my children, sturdy, driven, and intuitive.

Through Tito’s words, we gain insight into some of the reasons why our children might do the things they do be it flapping, spinning, wanting to be chased, or lining up toys.

Interspersed with verses that cut straight to the heart of things in a beautiful, lyrical way, Tito’s insight into the people and world around him is exceptional, his way of revealing his innermost self an incredible gift to the world at large. The second half of the book are a series of little stories, little vignettes that, though fictional, reveal as much of the writer as his memoir prose.

I read this book quickly, not wanting to put it down, and I know I’ll be reading it again and recommending it to pretty well everyone who will listen.

For more information on Tito and his driven, dedicated mother, go here:

HALO
Beyond the Brain
Closer to Truth: How does the Autistic Brain Work

Leave a Reply

