Anniversary of a Word

When we were first handed this word, this ambiguous diagnosis, we had no idea what the path before us would bring. Today, it has been exactly one year since we took Logan to Children’s for his evaluation. Autism has been a part of our lives for much longer than a year, but this marks the anniversary of a word.

We’ve learned a lot in that time and Logan has made remarkable progress. Certainly, we’ve had our difficulties and setbacks, but the advancement is undeniable. Looking back, our son is different today than he was a year ago. He talks to us instead of reciting lines from his favorite shows or songs. He plays with his brother instead of near. He still doesn’t eat like we’d like, but I fear that may be a continual battle.

We still have a long way to go, but we’ve come so far in this one little year that I can’t help but have hope for the future. I’m so proud of my boy. I’m proud of our whole little A-Team, without whom I think we’d still be floundering along.

I look forward to seeing where we are in another year, or five, or ten. Watching him progress the way he is, it’s a bit like every day is Christmas for me. I never know what new thing he’ll do and each new thing is as precious to me as any gem.

Leave a Reply

