Thanksgiving

Here in the States, we are coming up on Thanksgiving and I, for one, have a great deal to be thankful for this year. My son, Logan, is making huge strides in school and in therapy. This time last year, he was rocking and scratching himself to bleeding, throwing fits every day, and would not say anything that wasn’t scripted. Today, he still rocks, but mostly to music or when he’s bored or over tired. The scratching has all but disappeared, only rearing up when he’s having a meltdown. His meltdowns are now infrequent and ten times shorter than what they once were. Today, he can have a short, simple conversation. He’ll even talk on the phone to his grandparents. It has been an amazing transition. This week, he even wore underwear to school instead of pullups. Seeing such progress, being able to point to all that has worked so well and declare success, it’s amazing. Our A-Team is awesome and I am so thankful to have each and every one of them. They have helped make all this progress possible.

I’m thankful for our little support group too – people who understand what it’s like to fight through meltdowns, fend off judgmental stares, and deal with the odd spikes of behavior every time the weather shifts too fast. I swear my little one is better than any barometer, any weather service out there. Doppler’s got nothing on my kid.

I’m thankful for my husband and my older son who have been so great, so involved with every step we’ve taken. For our extended families who go out of their way to support us, to work with him, and just give him all the love he’ll let them give. He still isn’t too keen on too much hugging or kissing, but he doesn’t push away like he once did.

I’m thankful my husband has a good job in PA, where they mandate insurance must cover autism treatments and therapies. I’m thankful I’m able to be a stay at home so I can work with him when he’s home and for him when he’s not. I’m thankful for the great companies that offer free online courses in autism and autism therapies (a post on these places and the courses offered will be forthcoming as soon as I finish the list). I’m thankful for the roof over our heads, the food on our table, the unity we have as a family, as a team. I’m thankful for the friends I’ve made on the way.

What about you? What are you thankful for this year?

Leave a Reply

