From A Different Perspective

Recently, I read an essay written by a man with autism and it is one of the most moving things I’ve read in a long time. Don’t Mourn For Us – by Jim Sinclair (who helped to found Autism Network International). I recommend every parent, grandparent, caregiver, or friend of an autistic person read this and take it to heart.

We cannot grieve for some imagined child when the child we have needs us so much, offers us so much. We cannot sink into the well of misplaced grief. Our kids are watching us, learning from us, and what does it show them if all we do is lament what we think we may have ‘lost’?

My son is constantly surprising me, amazing me. He is not broken, I do not wish to fix or cure him. I want to learn how to give him the best tools I can for his long term success. I want to work with him to achieve his goals, to do all I can to support him and assist him. To me, he is exactly who he is supposed to be: an amazing, joyful, intelligent little boy.

Leave a Reply

