Talk About It

I know from experience that there are some people who don’t want to talk about their loved one’s autism diagnosis. Personally, I don’t think that does anyone any good. Firstly, we are not alone in this. Our children aren’t alone in this. Nothing is gained by remaining silent. In fact, you never know where help will come from if you talk about it.

When my son was first diagnosed, I wasn’t necessarily keeping the information to myself, I just wasn’t sure if anyone needed to know. It wasn’t until we started going to speech therapy that I really started talking about it and even then, it was in vague reference. I posted to my Facebook about the progress we were making. From that, a woman who is a counselor in a high school in another state messaged me. She works with autistic kids and some really wonderful techniques to share with me and offered to answer any questions I might have. A few months later, I posted about the Ohio Valley Autism Network and a friend of mine from high school wrote to me. As it happens, she grew up to be an occupational therapist who works with autistic kids all the time. That day, I was having a particular problem with my son who has started gagging when he doesn’t want to try a new food. She asked me some pointed questions, offered me some excellent suggestions, and answered my own questions in a way I could totally understand.

Ultimately, you have nothing to lose by talking about what you’re going through. You never know, talking about your child’s symptoms could lead to connecting with someone else who has already been down this road and has suggestions to offer to make your journey easier.

Leave a Reply

